Association

The Myanmar-Institut was founded on December 10, 2016. Its goal is to connect German-speaking academics involved with Myanmar (as well as others interested in the country) and to facilitate the exchange between them. Furthermore, it aims to promote interdisciplinary research, the study of the Burmese language as well as an exchange with the international scientific network and with Burmese scientific institutions. The Myanmar-Institut acts as a contact for questions related to Myanmar.

In order to facilitate exchange, a yearly conference will be held in changing locations. This conference is considered a successor of Wimya (“Wissenschaftsforum Myanmar”, Scientific Forum Myanmar) which was founded in 2012 and developed into a yearly conference which was held in Halle in 2014, in Zurich in 2015 and in Berlin in 2016.

Groups

The Myanmar Study Group, which was founded in Berlin in 2014, has now become a sub-group of the Myanmar-Institut. Academics of the Myanmar Forschende der Universität Zürich meet weekly.

Newsletter

The official Myanmar-Institut newsletter ist launched in November 2017. Informations on events, conferences, publication etc. are distributed via a mailing list. In order to sign up, please e-mail info@myanmar-institut.org. But – it’s in German…

Verein

Der Verein Myanmar-Institut wurde am 10. Dezember 2016 gegründet. Ziel ist es, deutschsprachige Akademikerinnen und Akademiker und Interessierte zu Myanmar zu vernetzen und den Austausch, eine transdisziplinäre Forschung und die Sprachlehre zu fördern. Kontakte und Austausch zum internationalen wissenschaftlichen Netzwerk und zu myanmarischen Wissenschaftsinstitutionen sollen gepflegt und erweitert werden. Der Verein fungiert nach Innen und nach Außen als Ansprechpartner zu Myanmar-spezifischen Fragen.

Eine jährlich an wechselnden Orten stattfindende Tagung wird angestrebt und ermöglicht den Austausch. Diese Aktivität sieht sich in der Tradition des 2012 gegründeten Wimya (Wissenschaftsforum Myanmar). Daraus hat sich seit 2014 ein jährliches Symposium entwickelt, das zunächst in Halle, 2015 in Zürich und 2016 in Berlin stattgefunden hat. 2017 wurde die Interdisziplinäre Myanmar-Konferenz 2017 in Bonn von der Universität Bonn in Kooperation mit diesem Verein veranstaltet.

Untergruppen

Die 2014 in Berlin gegründete Myanmar Study Group wurde mit der Gründung des Vereins eine Untergruppe des Myanmar-Instituts. Die Myanmar Forschenden der Universität Zürich, eine weitere Untergruppe des Vereins treffen sich wöchentlich zum Austausch.

Newsletter

Seit November 2017 gibt es einen Newsletter, der zwei Mal in Monat erscheint. Hier werden Informationen zum Myanmar-Institut, zu Veranstaltungen, Veröffentlichungen, Tagungen und vieles weitere versendet. Wer den Newsletter erhalten möchte, meldet sich bitte über info@myanmar-institut.org an.